Lurking in the cellar: what a beast.

The tale of the Singer 201K Sewing Machine (part one)

Some people are fabric hoarders and some people are craft book collectors. Whilst I am guilty of both these pastimes, it seems I am also a sewing machine enthusiast (I have 3 very fine sewing machines upstairs in my craft room).

Mr Greensleeves having just emerged from rummaging around in the cellar announced that he had found an old sewing machine in an absolutely massive case. Well can you imagine, my heart skipped a beat and I began hopping around with glee. It is not easy getting into our cellar because of the amount of junk (hence Mr Greensleeves attempt at clearing the space).

Nevertheless such an announcement was like a red rag to a bull and with a speed faster than an experienced tailor can stitch a straight seam, I was down those dark steep steps for an inspection.

Facing me was indeed huge case. An old label was attached stating that the contents were “In good working order”. I could not have been more excited if I were Alice in Wonderland staring at the “Drink Me” bottle.

Inside the case was a heavy singer sewing machine with electric foot pedal. Stored inside the lid of the case was a wooden extension board approximately 8 inch by 8 inch.

Despite the fact that I couldn’t wait to try the machine out, I told Mr Greensleeves to delay bringing the beast out into daylight until next week.

I have quite a few irons in the fire at the moment and want to give this new plaything my full attention…to be continued…

Hi, I am a happily married, approaching sixty, wife, mother and grandmother. I love writing, sewing and knitting and am passionate about crafting. I fully believe that crafting can make a difference in the world. It can reduce stress, help create friendships, build communities, be used to make political protestation and show the world that peaceful pursuits such as crafting is more rewarding than hostility. This is why I love crafting and why I craft for cause.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Singer 201K Sewing Machine
3 comments on “Lurking in the cellar: what a beast.
  1. Oh my – how exciting!!What a find!

Leave a Reply

Slizzy Greensleeves

Hi, welcome to the quirky, crafty world of Slizzy Greensleeves. My interests are eclectic and many and include, thrifting, sewing, writing, knitting, crafting for good causes and collecting. I sometimes like a good rant too.

So pull up a chair, make yourself at home (the kettle is always on) and join me on my creative journey. Oooh I have biscuits too. Homemade ones of course.
Love 'n' Hugs from Slizzy x

Follow Slizzy Greensleeves at SewMuchHopeSewLittleTime on WordPress.com
