I’m in

I’m In: The Love What You Wear Project 2013

I have involved myself with a new project, and it is the reason why I started my blog “Slizzy Greensleeves SewMuchHopeSewLittleTime” in the first place. Following in the footsteps of the lovely girls over at “The Love What You Wear Project” (see address below) and “My Make Do and Mend Year” (see link below) who ooze inspiration; I too have decided to embrace a more crafty, homey, spendthrift lifestyle. For one whole year I too refuse to buy new clothes. This means I will thrift from charity shops, value and embrace vintage, sew and restyle my own shreds and salvage from skips if necessary.

I have new boots bought recently (before my pledge) and enough winter coats to stock  Siberia. I have plenty of knickers too. I do need a couple of new pairs of bras and may occasionally need new tights. These will be my concessions but I will make sure I earn the right to buy them by fully committing to not buying any other clothing for one full year.

I have vices though. I buy four craft magazines per month which I will not forgo as these are my inspiration. I do though solemnly swear to making things featured in these magazines rather than just ogling all the pretty pictures.

What else might I need? Ink and paper for my printer. I shall cutback on my printing for a start and learn to endure reading from the computer screen as much as possible. To ensure this and with full embracing of this vintage style thrifting experience; Ink and Paper are forthwith rationed to 3 full sets of ink and 3 reams of paper to last for one whole year. As the sale ads say ” when its gone its gone”.

My final vice is notebooks but I intend to make my own from waste paper and junk mail so should survive.

When will I start my spendthrift year? I pledge to start on December 1st 2012 and continue until January 1st 2013. A little over a year of thrifting, a bakers dozen of spendthrift months if you like, but this appeases my conscience on leaving myself a little more time to stock up on bras, tights, ink and paper.

I also intend to provide dresses and shorts for young girls and boys through the “Dress a Girl Around the World Project (see address below). The pattern can be found at Sew Scrumptious (see address below). I already have a dozen dresses cut out. Watch this space for updates.

I am really excited at making new friends and learning new skills (including the learning art of blogging and embedding links). Anyway enough of my prattling on, but I would like to say I am looking forward to getting to know everyone who has already pledged through “The Love What You Wear Project” (see address below). Follow me at my Blog and Face-book pages “Sew Much Hope Sew Little Time” (see addresses below)

Links

The Love What You Wear Project: http://thelovewhatyouwearproject.blogspo…

My Make Do and Mend Year: http://mymakedoandmendyear.wordpress.com

Dress a Girl Around the World: http://www.dressagirlaroundtheworld.com/

Sew Scrumptious: http://sewscrumptious.blogspot.co.uk/

Slizzy Greensleeves at SewMuchHopeSewLittleTime Blog: https://slizzygreensleevesewmuchope.wordpress.com

Slizzy Greensleeves Facebook: www.facebook.com/slizzieswritesewandgrow

Hi, I am a happily married, approaching sixty, wife, mother and grandmother. I love writing, sewing and knitting and am passionate about crafting. I fully believe that crafting can make a difference in the world. It can reduce stress, help create friendships, build communities, be used to make political protestation and show the world that peaceful pursuits such as crafting is more rewarding than hostility. This is why I love crafting and why I craft for cause.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Love What You Wear 2013
4 comments on “I’m in
  1. vivjm says:

    Look forward to seeing how you get on with your thrifty year!
    I am a bit of a sucker for magazines too, so I will join you in trying to make sure that I actually make some of the projects in them, instead of just ogling them!

  2. Thanks so much for blogging about me and the pillowcase dress charity. Thats fab! Good luck with your challenge. Looking forward to reading all about it.

  3. Slizzy says:

    Thank you so much for taking the time out to read my blog. I am a little confused with it all but expect I will soon get used to blogging and hopefully improve with time.

  4. Jen says:

    Fab! So great to have you on board with The Love What you Wear project, and sounds like you will be having a generally very thrifty, re-used year! Can’t wait to follow your progress. Thanks for the link back to My Make Do and Mend Year. Hopefully we can inspire each other, and maybe a few others too!

Leave a Reply

Slizzy Greensleeves

Hi, welcome to the quirky, crafty world of Slizzy Greensleeves. My interests are eclectic and many and include, thrifting, sewing, writing, knitting, crafting for good causes and collecting. I sometimes like a good rant too.

So pull up a chair, make yourself at home (the kettle is always on) and join me on my creative journey. Oooh I have biscuits too. Homemade ones of course.
Love 'n' Hugs from Slizzy x

Follow Slizzy Greensleeves at SewMuchHopeSewLittleTime on WordPress.com
